August 2017: TBR

Last month I failed to stick to my TBR, so I think I’m going to do my TBRs a little differently from now on. I’m no good at setting a list for myself and planning out my month, as my reading tastes change all the time.

So. I’m going to split my monthly lists into 1) the books I absolutely have to read/am obligated to finish and 2) the books that I don’t necessarily have to read now but want to, and I’m not going to let myself get start the books I’ve deemed “optional” until I’ve finished the “mandatory” ones.

And I know it sounds like I’m taking the fun out of reading by saying “books I’m obligated to read,” but that phrasing just gives me the push I need to start reading and then hopefully the book will do the rest for me.

So yup, that’s my new plan, and without any further ado…

August TBR

Books I Have to Read This Month

Mask of Shadows (Untitled, #1)
1. Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

Why I’m Interested: I started this sometime last month after Sourcebooks Fire kindly accepted my Netgalley request, but I quickly got sidetracked with a book club I joined and an e-ARC of Beasts Made of Night. I’m currently a little less than 20% through but have plans to binge read once I get a free day. Anyway, the book has some elements I really love and some… not so great… but hopefully I’ll end up loving it overall.
Defy the Stars (Constellation, #1)

 

2. Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray

Why I’m Interested: For my online book club, we chose to read Ramona Blue and Defy the Stars for the month of August. Since I just finished RB, I’m ready to start DtS as soon as I finish MoS! I actually know nothing about this one, so… yeah. I’m going to keep it that way though, as every now and then I like to be surprised.

Books I Would Like to Get to This Month

A Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire, #4)

 

3. A Feast for Crows by George R. R. Martin

Why I’m Interested: Uh it’s the fourth book of A Song of Ice and FireGame of Thrones–so of course I need to finish it! I’m a little more than 1/3 of the way through, so I don’t know that it’s realistic for me to say I’ll be able to finish it this time particular month, but I certainly want to! I have the hardcover and the audiobook, so at least I can read on the go.

Radio Silence

 

4. Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

Why I’m Interested: THE CHARACTERS + THE PLOT + JUST EVERYTHING. After putting A Feast for Crows on my TBR, I realistically maybe only have room for two more books and that’s a big maybe considering my cousins are visiting for half of the month and I plan to spend every second with them. So to make it easier on myself, I really want to pick this one back up! I’m missing Frances and Aled so much–their friendship had just begun when I put the book on hold, so I need to fix that, stat!

Goodbye Days

 

5. Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner

Why I’m Interested: I tried to read this a while ago, but I read the first chapter and knew it was going to wreck me, so that was a no-no. Hopefully by the time I make it to Goodbye Days I’ll be ready! (Although probably not lol–I wasn’t at all prepared for Zentner’s last book.)

 

 


That’s everything I hope to read in August! Pretty short, but realistically should work for me. How about you guys? What are you plans for the month, and has anyone read any of the books on my TBR?

– Taylor

5 thoughts on “August 2017: TBR

Leave a Reply

