July 2017: Wrap-Up

I'm sad to report that this was a terrible month for reading, as I only read four books out of the many I had hoped to finish… 😭

Now I Rise (The Conqueror's Saga, #2)

 

1. Now I Rise by Kiersten White (5/5 stars)

Quick Overview: This was a fantastic follow-up to And I Darken! I can't wait to see how Lada and Radu's stories end up–to see if Kiersten chooses an historically accurate ending or goes her own route? Review maybe to come? I might wait to reread And I Darken and post a review for that one first. 🤔

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

 

2. The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee (3/5 stars)

Quick Overview: Though this one had a lot going for it, ultimately I was left feeling highly disappointed. I enjoyed the writing and loved two out of the three main characters, but ultimately did not love them enough to make up for how incredibly boring the plot was. So devastated, as I was highly anticipating this one… 😞 You can read my full review here.

Ramona Blue

 

3. Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy (3/5 stars)

Quick Overview: I read this for a book club I joined and while we have not discussed yet, I found this book… okay I guess? *insert long spiel about how contemporary isn't my thing* I think this is just a case of the "it's not you, it's me." I started off really liking it but quickly grew bored and detached from the characters… I'm currently working on my review, so more of my thoughts coming soon!

Beasts Made of Night

 

4. Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi (4.5/5 stars)

Quick Overview: I (hopefully only temporarily) abandoned Mask of Shadows for this one, because I can't even tell you how immediately it grabbed me. I was about ten chapters into Mask and still felt conflicted about it, whereas Beasts had me hooked within the first few chapters. There is a lot to take in what with all of the world-building but once you start to get a handle on all of the slang, everything begins to make much more sense. Review to come–highly recommend this one!


So that's everything I read in July! I went through a huge reading slump if you couldn't tell… I started The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue at the beginning of the month and could not get into it, but I was determined to read it and would not allow myself to read anything else before I finished it. Big mistake, as it took half of the month to push through the last 250 pages.

I sort of had the same issue with Mask of Shadows… I'm still only ten chapters in, so I have to get on that! 😬

I was going to post my August TBR with this July Wrap-Up, but I really want to stick to my TBR this time, so I'm going to sit on it for a few days. Mask will definitely be on it though. 👍🏼


How did you guys do this month?? I love knowing what everyone else is reading, so let me know!

– Taylor

19 thoughts on “July 2017: Wrap-Up

  1. I read Ramona Blue for book club already too and I was going to post a review sometime next month. I read it less than a week ago and barely remember it…. Contemporary isn’t really my thing and I read When Dimple Met Rishi right before it so they kind of blend together.
    I had a ridiculously good reading month, I read 11 books which is basically the three months prior combined. It kind of put me into a reading slump and I had to force myself to finish my last two books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad I’m not alone then! Yeah contemporary is always a tricky genre for me. 😞 I definitely understand what you mean about contemporary books usually blending together–it happens all the time when I’m writing reviews. I’ll go to write about a specific scene and realize it is from a totally different book πŸ˜‚ Can’t wait to read your review! It’ll be interesting to see how similar/different our reading experiences were.

      And ah congrats!! πŸ˜„πŸŽ‰ That’s so awesome! (Well not about the last two books with the reading slump, but hopefully you’ll find a great book to pull you out of it!)

      Like

      1. For me it’s the characters that blend together πŸ˜‚
        One of the semi-regulars at the cafe told me to read Big Little Lies. Despite the popularity I have absolutely no clue what it’s about, but my copy is due Saturday so that’s what I’m reading next 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ah characters too! For me, it seems like a lot of protagonists always have the same voice or something πŸ€”
        And ooh Big Little Lies! I watched the show on HBO, so naturally it’s on my TBR now. πŸ˜† You’ll have to let me know how you like it β˜ΊοΈπŸ‘πŸΌ

        Like

      3. Totally! The same personalities! Honestly I wish I liked them more because everyone goes crazy about so many of them and I know I’ll probably be disappointed in them :/
        I will for sure! I’m hoping to start before work tomorrow πŸ˜ƒ

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey 4 books is better than what I did!! I think I only read 2 – they were both 700 page books so they took me forever!! The problem with hyped books is you build up these big expectations and then get super disappointed when it doesn’t live up to your expectations. I have heard rave reviews about the Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, which then of course makes me very cautious haha. I still think you did well this month, that’s one book per week which is a solid effort πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw hey thanks! You’re right–I feel better now thinking of it as one book per week ☺️ And oh my goodness, two 700-page books! 😱 Tell me your secret!! Which books if you don’t mind my asking?
      And definitely! I try to avoid all of the hype, but the books always somehow find me and reel me in, haha πŸ˜† Hopefully you’ll like it better than I did if you choose to pick it up! 😊🀞🏼

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am reading the Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson, and I am absolutely loving it!! It is definitely worth the 700 pages per book!! Haha I actually don’t know how I am reading such large books, I think a part of me enjoys when you get past half way and the left side gets larger than the right side….sorry that sounds so weird!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. 😱😱 I’m dying to read the Mistborn trilogy!! It’s on my list as soon as I finish the Game of Thrones books (one book left!) Wow congrats on getting through both of them in a month–that’s amazing! πŸ˜„πŸŽ‰ And no, I know exactly what you mean! For me that’s the definition of satisfaction πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I highly recommend the Mistborn Trilogy hey, despite how long it is, it doesn’t drag. I have been slowly reading the Wheel of Time series which is like, 14 books, all around 700+ pages and they drag terribly. So it’s nice to read something that keeps up the pace and intrigue. I haven’t read Game of Thrones…I may read it one day once all the hype dies down over the shows haha.

        Haha yay I am so glad you know what I mean!!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yay! Yeah, I keep meaning to get to it! I have the first two books (as well as the first on audio πŸ˜†) I know I won’t want to stop once I start, so I just need to plan for enough time to read them all ☺️
        Ooh the Wheel of Time series is also on my list! My friend who got me into GoT recommended both series, so that’s also next–those two series along with the Kingkiller chronicles. I can only handle one huge series at a time sadly lol
        And you definitely should! Maybe wait until all of the books are out, so you won’t have to wait years and years for the last two books (like me😭)?

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I started it (maybe a few chapters) but I couldn’t get into it because I wasn’t in a contemporary mood (those are rare for me lol)… I’m going to give it another shot sometime though!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The New Disney Princess Book Tag – Darque Dreamer Reads

  4. Pingback: Liebster Award #2 and #3 – Darque Dreamer Reads

Leave a Reply

