3 Great Audiobooks

First off, it must be mentioned that I have not read too many audiobooks. I almost always have at least one checked out from my library, but more often than not, I don’t have the time to listen to them. (I read faster than it usually takes to finish an audiobook. I guess that might be a negative I forgot to include in my last post–whoops.) 

Assuming you’ve read my post from Monday, you will know my thoughts on audiobooks, and why I’ve finally come to love them, but for the most part, I still have not listened to probably more than fifteen.

A lot of the audiobooks I have listened to were just okay. Nothing too amazing or phenomenal, but as I started to think more on it, I realized there are 3 in particular that I love either just as much as the book or possibly even more
Without any further ado, here are those audiobooks and what I loved about them:

1. Where She Went by Gayle Forman (5/5 stars)

This is probably my favorite audiobook that I’ve read so far, if not tied with THUG, and it honestly probably will always be my favorite. It was this one that finally got me used to the idea of listening to audiobooks.

Dan Bittner, the wonderful narrator, really brought the protagonist to life. He perfectly captured and conveyed Adam’s personality–which mainly consists of both his sardonic, self-deprecating remarks and the sarcasm he uses to hide the grief he’s going through after suffering such a tremendous loss.

Hearing the words brought to life has no real impact unless the narrator does a decent job, but in the case of a great narrator such as Bittner, it only amplifies a reader’s connection and ability to empathize with the story.

I don’t know that if I were to physically read the book that it would ever match the emotions and connection I had while listening to the audiobook. And that just goes to show you how important it–and giving audiobooks a chance–is.

2. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (5/5 stars)

Man, this story really, truly affected me all the way down to my core. I actually only resorted to listening to the audiobook because my library did not have a physical copy available yet, but once I did finally receive my requested physical copy, I preferred the audiobook hands down. 

The narrator’s voice had the perfect balance of emotion in it at all times. She–Bahni Turpin–wasn’t overly dramatic but she also wasn’t disconnected from the story or acting as if she was reading us a boring textbook like a robot.

I got goosebumps and chills more times than I thought possible in a contemporary book, and even had to take breaks from it after being reduced to tears several times. I also laughed out loud more than I have in a long time. It’s hard to make me do even just one out of the two, so to have done both–especially in a contemporary novel? I think that just goes to show you how great and important this (audio)book is.

And in case you’re wondering whether it was the actual content or the narrator, I actually did pick up the physical copy once it became available at my library, but even though it was still just as good as the audiobook, I noticed something important. As I began to read, I could only hear it in Turpin’s voice, so I figured why not just continue listening to the story? And so I did. No regrets about that. My point being that both elements–both the story and the narrator–were perfect. 👌🏼

3. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (5/5 stars)

Now, this one I know has a bit of a mixed reaction (the audiobook, not the actual story, since everyone I know loves it), but I really loved it. I was actually in the hospital when I started to listen to it, as I was too weak to actually pick up a book, and it turned out to be everything I wanted and more.

Each point-of-view character had their own narrator, and none of them were an issue for me. In fact, the majority of them did a great job, while some just did an acceptable job. 

I don’t really know what made others say they didn’t enjoy the audiobook, but I found it easy to follow (which is a first) and I found it even easier to connect with the characters and their story. I actually think that it may have been harder to get a distinct grasp on each character’s “voice” if I had been physically reading.

Honestly, I don’t really have anything else to say other than that. It was an incredible story and the audiobook represented it nicely. Overall, I highly suggest that you check this story out–whether it be through the audiobook or a physical/digital copy.


Thanks for reading, and I hope you give these audiobooks a shot, if you haven’t already! Also, please let me know if you have any recommendations! I definitely need more audiobooks to add to my shelf. ☺️👍

– Taylor

Leave a Reply

