April 2017: TBR Update!

We’re a little over halfway through the month of April right now, so I thought I’d explain a bit on where I am with my TBR–what I’ve read, what I’ve added to it, and what I now truly hope to finish by the end of April. (How anyone can make a TBR for the whole month and actually complete it truly impresses me! I change my mind at least a million times just writing mine up, so actually sticking to it? Practically impossible for me.)

If you haven’t yet seen my April TBR, click here!

That all being said, I am pretty proud of how I’ve done so far this month. Yes, I only gave myself seven books, but so far I’ve read two on that list (THUG + ADBH–the former was AMAZING and I’m currently writing my review👍, and the latter was somewhat of a letdown which you can read about in my review here). I’m also almost done with Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones (I plan on finishing tomorrow!) and have read a fair bit of two other books (which I will mention below).

It may not seem like a lot, but with how busy I was, I’m impressed with myself–especially because I know this last half of the month is going to be much more calm, so I should easily be able to read many more books. Fingers crossed! 🤞

So, now, after finishing Wintersong, I plan on finishing Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor–it finally arrived from BookDepository! (I LITERALLY CRIED WHEN I OPENED IT AND AGAIN AFTER READING JUST THE PROLOGUE. Man, I’ve missed Laini’s storytelling so much. This book is now most definitely the most beautiful thing I own–inside and out.😍)

I am also currently reading another book that randomly caught my interest–We Are Okay by Nina LaCour, and I plan on alternating between it and Strange in order to make Strange last longer. 😉

But the BIGGEST NEWS I have is that I got my hands on an ARC for Now I Rise by Kiersten White! So, of course, that HAS to be read ASAP. I loooved And I Darken, so I’m ecstatic about reading this sequel!

I also am waiting on my copy of the Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli from Book Depository, and Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer I plan to borrow from my library. So provided I have finished all of those above, I hope to pick one of these two up next!

I have put The Deep End of the Sea by Heather Lyons on hold for now because of all of these recent developments, but hopefully will finish it next month. There’s nothing wrong about it so far; the writing is wonderful, but for now I just have to make time for my higher priority reads. 😉


Thanks for reading, and let me know how you’re doing with your TBR! My next update will of course be in my April 2017: Wrap-Up post. 😉

– Taylor

Leave a Reply

