April 2017: TBR

Oh my goodness, I can’t believe it’s already April!

This month, I only have a few books releases I am anticipating, so it seems that I will mostly be reading the books I did not get to in March. I will talk about those after the April releases.

April 2017 Releases:

The Upside of Unrequited

 

1. The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Why I’m interested: I have been highly looking forward to Albertalli’s next release ever since last year when I read and loved Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. It seems like this one will (hopefully) also be brimming with nerd-culture references and have characters you cannot help but love. Click the title to read its Goodreads summary!

 

Spindle Fire

2. Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer

Why I’m interested: Again, I’m a sucker for any re-telling, and Sleeping Beauty was the only Disney movie I ever really liked growing up. (I liked obscure fantasy movies like The Secret of Nimh, The Black Cauldron, and The Last Unicorn.) But for some reason I really loved SB–I even read the original story because of it. After reading Neil Gaiman’s short, but beautiful, re-telling this one may fall short of my expectations, but I’m willing to take that chance. Click the title to read its Goodreads summary!


Other Books I Plan to Read in April:

With only two books on my radar, it seems I will mostly be focusing on reading the books I didn’t get to earlier this year. Here they are (in no particular order):

A Darkly Beating Heart

 

1. A Darkly Beating Heart by Lindsay Smith

Why I’m interested: JAPAN + TIME TRAVEL + VENGEANCE + LGBT MAIN CHARACTER–I mean, what could go wrong? *knocks on wood* Click the title to read its Goodreads summary!

The Deep End of the Sea

 

2. The Deep End of the Sea by Heather Lyons

Why I’m interested: MEDUSA RE-TELLING. Enough said. Currently reading this one, and I did not expect it to be set in a modern era, so although that was a bit weird, Lyons’ gorgeous writing drew me in. It’s very likely that I will post a review on this one. Click the title to read its Goodreads summary!

Wintersong

 

3. Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

Why I’m interested: “FOR FANS OF LABYRINTH AND BEAUTY AND THE BEAST.” Welp, that includes me, so sign me up! Just got this one from the library, and I am absolutely in love with the cover! Let’s hope it’s just as good on the inside. 🙂 Click the title to read its Goodreads summary!

The Hate U Give

 

4. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Why I’m interested: Um, I think the question is “why wouldn’t I be?!” This book is taking the YA audience by storm, and I couldn’t be any happier, for it deals with the Black Lives Matter movement–a movement extremely relevant to our current society. I cannot wait to start this! Click the title to read its Goodreads summary!

29748925

 

5. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Why I’m interested: TITLE + COVER + DESCRIPTION + (largely) AUTHOR. As soon as my copy arrives from bookdepository.com, I plan on dropping any and all other books in order to devour this one. Laini Taylor is one of my favorite authors, and she never fails to disappoint! Click the title to read its Goodreads summary!

 


These are just seven of the many, many, many books I hope to read this year–and, more specifically, that I am hoping to get to this month. Whether I get to all of them or not, we’ll see–the way I pick my next book is usually pretty random; I get a gut feeling. That being said, I still am highly excited to check all of these out! Let me know what you plan to read this month, or link me to your April TBRs!

– Taylor

3 thoughts on “April 2017: TBR

  1. Pingback: April 2017: TBR Update! – The Stars Who Gaze Back

Leave a Reply

