March 2017: Book Haul

In the month of March, I may not have been able to read many books, but I sure was able to add some great ones to my shelf!

As I recently moved to Southeast Florida, I haven’t yet figured out all of the best places to purchase books, but this month I did find two great places. That’s a fair bit of progress in my mind, considering there was only one bookstore I frequented in my last three years of living in remote Cedar Point, NC.

The first place is a used bookstore called Big Apple Bookstore and is located in Ft. Lauderdale. It may not look like much from the outside, but inside you can find great used books all for $4 or less. They also sell CDs, DVDs, and vinyl. There’s also the option to trade in your used books/media for cash or store credit, which is what I did.

The Haul: 

Passenger 2passenger smallMy first big find was a signed hardcover of Passenger by Alexandra Bracken–and for only $4, can you imagine? I have not yet read Bracken’s Darkest Minds series, and although I do not plan on reading it, I’ve seen some pretty wonderful reviews for Passenger. From what I’ve gathered, it centers on time travel and contains diverse characters, so that’s good enough for me! You can probably expect a review coming soon. 😉

Tiger Lily 1

Next up is a paperback of Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson. I’m a sucker for re-tellings, especially ones that come from the perspective of a minor side character or villain. In this case, Tiger Lily is a re-telling of Peter Pan, and focuses on–you guessed it–Tiger Lily!

A Man Called Ove 1.jpg

Although I mostly stick to fantasy novels, I’ve made it a goal of mine to branch out more this year, in terms of genre. Therefore, last, but not least, and in keeping with my goal, I bought a paperback of A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman. All I know about this one is that it sounds like a more mature version of the Pixar film Up–minus the flying house and grand plot, of course. From my understanding, it’s about a grouchy old man who opens up to his new, chatty neighbors.


The second place is located in Boca Raton and is called Bookwise. There they specialize in classic books and rare editions, although they do have normal ones as well. This place is a collector’s dream.

The Haul:

I got a total of 5 books–4 of which are in Spanish, in order to keep my Spanish skills sharp. Question: do you collect books in different languages? Even if I didn’t speak Spanish, I’m pretty sure I still would have bought these (well, the Tolkien books anyway).

Tolkien en espanol.jpg

LOOK AT THESE GORGEOUS BOOKS. Tolkien in Spanish! I love the gold bordering with all the runes. They did not have The Fellowship of the Ring, but I did get The Hobbit (El Hobbit), The Two Towers (Las Dos Torres), and The Return of the King (El Retorno del Rey). So happy about these!

Crepusculo 1


Yes, yes, I know what you’re thinkingTwilight (Crepusculo)? As problematic and devoid of any meaningfulness as it is, Twilight is one of the few books that really got me reading again in middle school. It is also a book that I’ve read over and over to the point that I vividly remember specific passages; therefore, this is the perfect book for me to test my Spanish skills.

emma.jpg

Lastly, I bought this gorgeous Penguin Classics edition of Emma by Jane Austen. So far I have only read Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, but I am excited to dive into this one.


March Pre-Orders:

Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1)
UK Hardcover

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor | Hodder and Stoughton

Release Date: March 28th, 2017

Sadly, this was also not a great month for pre-orders, although the one book that did come out is probably my most-anticipated read of 2017–unless, of course, George R. R. Martin decides to release the next ASOIAF book (yeah, I wish).

I ordered the UK edition from bookdepository.com, so I have yet to receive my copy, but it still counts! You can most definitely expect a review of this coming sometime soon, although I can’t promise it will be 100% coherent what with all of the gushing/fangirling I’ll probably be doing. XD


I feel bad that my first book haul post is not as great as, say, last month’s was, but I want to give some examples of what books and authors I read, so I figure some books are better than none, right? Plus, not every month can be as amazing as the last. I can, however, tell you that my May book haul is bound to be long and exciting and complete, since there are so many releases I am anticipating for that month. 😉

Thanks for reading! Let me know what you got this month, so I can be on the lookout! Or if you know of any great places to buy books in Southeast FL, please let me know!

– Taylor

Leave a Reply

