Reader Problems: Book Tag

Seeing as I’m (extremely) new to book blogging, I decided a book tag would help establish what kind of reader/bibliophile I am, so although I was not tagged to do this and don’t yet have anyone to tag (most have already done it), here is my “Reader Problems Book Tag.” 🙂

1. You have 20,000 books in your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I agonize over it, of course! I would probably spend several days deciding–wasting enough time that I could have already read whatever I end up choosing. Whether it’s 20,000 books or just 20, there’s no doubt I’ll be extremely conflicted. (Right now my TBR is hovering just over 400 titles long.) Usually, I try and figure out which genre I’m in the mood for, and then I’ll narrow it down by an author or a series that has recently grabbed my attention. Sometimes that doesn’t work, and I’ll just have to go by trial-and-error throughout the list until I find one that I know is the perfect fit.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit, or are you committed?

I used to have a huge problem with not finishing a book/series. I mean, not finishing a book was an absolute sin to me. Even if I was bored to tears, a part of me needed to know how it all ended, so I’d make myself push through until I reached the end. Now, I set them aside to potentially revisit at a later date. I’ve found that it can simply be a matter of timing. Sometimes, I’m really just not feeling the genre or characters, and then when I come back to it, it turns out there was nothing wrong–it’s exactly what I wanted, just not at the time.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re behind on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up, and how?

Of course I’ll try. I’m the type of person who likes to set small goals in order to accomplish an overall goal, so if I see that I’m behind on my reading challenge, that’s what I’ll do. I’ll set a specific number of books I want to finish within the week, and figure out how many pages I need to read each day. I read pretty fast though, so there’s also the option of staying up late a couple nights in a row, easily knocking out a few more books.

4. The covers of a series you love Do. Not. Match. How do you cope?

I don’t–I cry, I kick, I scream, I bother my friends and family. Haha no, I just curse whoever made the horrendous decision…and maybe bother my friends and family about it. I change the way my shelves are organized pretty often though, and since they’re currently organized by color (I know, I’m a fiend)–which means it probably won’t aesthetically affect my shelf–I’ll be sad about the cover change, but I’ll manage.

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book that you do not. Who do you bond with over your shared feelings?

I take to Goodreads to find my like-minded book people and read their reviews while blurting out “yes!” or “exactly!” Although it should be expected–and is totally fine–that not everyone is going to love the same book, it’s still fun when you do find others who share the same opinion as you.

6. You’re reading a book in public and you’re about to start crying. How do you deal?

Thankfully, this doesn’t happen too often anymore. I miss the days that I could just completely zone out in a loud, crowded area, but sadly, I don’t read too often in public anymore. When I was in school, I did, and this happened a lot. In those cases, I’d just run to the bathroom or, to my utter dismay, I’d put my book away and force myself to focus on something else. However, now when I’m out and about, there’s often no time to read. 

7. The sequel to a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Are you going to re-read it?

THIS. This is every book sequel for me. I guess I’d say it depends on the book. If it’s on the same level (or, okay realistically speaking, even half as complex) as the ASOIAF books by George R. R. Martin, where there are at least thirty new characters mentioned in every chapter, and cleverly-placed foreshadowing is hidden in every nook and cranny, then heck no. Instead, I’ll wait until I can re-read the first one, so that I can go into the sequel with a better appreciation of the plot and its effects on the characters. If the last book ended on a cliffhanger and I’m desperate to check on my babies, or if it doesn’t seem like my memory issues will affect my enjoyment, I will go ahead and read the sequel. I can always re-read them both again, one after the other, for the full effect, in the future.

8. You do not want anyone–anyone–to borrow your books. How do you politely say no when someone asks?

I honestly don’t have a problem with sharing my books, as I only lend them to fellow readers whom I know will take care of my preciouses (yes, Gollum reference). I mean why would I have a problem with introducing someone to a favorite author/series of mine? Then there’s an extra person to fangirl along with me, duh. I guess I may be more hesitant to lend out my special copies though, and in that case I would probably tell them that they should get a library copy so we could buddy-read. Or I would tell them someone else has dibs, and I would recommend them another book instead.

9. You have picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over this reading slump?

As I mentioned earlier, sometimes it’s just a case of trial-and-error–figuring out what genre you want and going from there. Usually, I’ll come across one that I just know is what I’ve been looking for and then it’s case closed. Sometimes, if I’ve been unable to decide long enough that I’m behind on my reading challenge, I’ll just choose one and force myself to finish it. Then, even if it isn’t quite what I had hoped for, I will appreciate the next book even more.

10. There are so many books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you end up buying?

As many as I can afford, of course! If I have to budget, I’ll figure out which ones I can’t live without, and then I’ll request the others from my local library. Luckily, I’m pretty good at planning out my year, and figuring out which months will be busier than the others, so that I can put away a set amount of money as my book budget.

11. After you’ve purchased all of these books that you’re dying to read, how long do they sit on your shelves before you get to them?

Some I immediately devour, but the others might have to wait for as long as months to be picked up. It all depends on what books are available to me, and which of them are bigger priorities.


Thanks for reading my first book tag! Feel free to comment with a link to your blog/tag me so I can write my next book tag–trying to build my bookish community 🙂

– Taylor

Leave a Reply

